Youth Entrepreneurs students soar to victory in Regional Flyers Competition

YE-4wYouth Entrepreneurs (YE) held The Flyers, a business plan competition serving as the capstone of the yearlong YE program, on April 27 at the DoubleTree by Hilton, Wichita Airport. In categories ranging from art to agriculture, YE students dreamt up business plans and presented them for the chance to win scholarships and capital grants.
Forty-three students from Wichita-area schools were selected to take part in this year’s event, where they competed for regional honors and the opportunity to move on to the Final Flyers competition on June 2 in Wichita.
Each student had eight minutes to present his/her business plan to a group of judges. First-place winners were awarded $1,000, second-place winners $750 and third-place winners $500. Winners for four groups of students, include:
YE-1w1st Place:
Michele Valadez, East High School, for Catch My Bus; Whitney Clum, Northwest High School, for Cover to Cover; J. Larkin White, Winfield High School, for A to Z Assistants; Jenna Majors, Winfield High School, for Jenna’s Little Pitchers
2nd Place:
Paige Gray, Southeast High School, for Path to Success; Shane Bosely, Augusta High School, for Hi-Sight Imaging; Caitlyn Meraz, North High School, for Bombshell; Tayla Mallernee, Campus High School, for Rapid Ready
3rd Place:
Natalie Samuelson, Andover Central High School, for Keys w/ Ease; Brett Kabler, Andover High School, for The Escape ICT; Ashley Marlowe, Andover Central High School, for Strides Equestrian Center; Carly Flake, Andover High School, for Activus Physical Therapy Practice
YE-2wYouth Entrepreneurs provides high school students with many tools that help them in school and life,” said Phoebe Bachura, Youth Entrepreneurs executive director. “The Flyers in particular give students the opportunity to put business skills into practice. From preparing a business plan to delivering ideas to a panel of judges, students take away lessons that transcend the classroom and benefit them as they strive to make their entrepreneurial aspirations a reality.”
YE staff also presented awards to Wichita’s Volunteers of the Year, Woody Swain, Swain Farms, LLC, and Seth Konkel, Ilusion Productions; and Teachers of the Year, Hollie Ricke, Andover High School; Janet Hartley, Wichita West High School; Erin Wohletz, Little River High School. Westar Energy and Don Sherman, VP community relations & strategic partnerships, received the Community Partner Award. Additionally, YE Academy participants and scholarship winners were recognized.
YE-3wThe Flyers Wichita was sponsored by Independence Community College.

Leave a Reply