Seltzer student win Tot Trot t-shirt contest

Andrea Nguyen, first-grade student at Seltzer Elementary, had the winning t-shirt design for the Wichita River Festival’s Tot Trot. Her design was chosen from more than 1,500 entries. Wichita River Festival Admiral Windwagon Smith presented Nguyen with a framed shirt featuring her winning design and a $50 gift certificate to Watermark Books.

Marcia Scurfield, Seltzer’s art teacher, also received a $100 gift certificate to support her classes. The school received a framed shirt with Nguyen’s design and all of her classmates receive a complimentary Tot Trot entry. Seltzer also received $400 for having the most entries.

Three winners were chosen from each division: kindergarten, first-grade and second-grade, with Nguyen selected the overall winner. All the division winners received a gift certificate. Other winners from the Wichita Public Schools include: Kindergarten: Kayla Huynh, Seltzer – first place; Emily Larson, Seltzer, second-place; and Mario Gallgos,

Enterprise – third place.

First-Grade: Andrea Nguyen, Seltzer – first place; Tristen Chung, Seltzer – second-place; Lauren Higgins, McLean – third-place.

Second-Grade: Andy Vu, Seltzer – first place; Esmeralda Ramirez, McLean – second place; Diloncrae Ball, Seltzer – third place.

Enterprise received second place and Horace Mann placed third for number of entries submitted to the contest. Other schools that participated are L’Ouverture, Isely, Lawrence and Riverside.

The Wichita River Festival’s River Run and Tot Trot is Saturday, June 4 at 10:30 a.m.

BOE celebrates scholarship recipients

The Board of Education celebrated the accomplishments of 65 seniors for being some of the top scholarship recipients. The students were recognized for receiving $48,000 or more in scholarship earnings and/or for being named a Wichita State University Dean’s Scholar.

The amount of the scholarships the students received totaled $5.8 million.

“We are very proud of these seniors,” said Denise Wren, Assistant Superintendent of High Schools. “And these seniors are just a few of the students who have received scholarships.”

Northwest student named Presidential Scholar

Daniel Depew, senior at Northwest High School, was named a Presidential Scholar on May 2. The United States Presidential Scholars Program is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education.

The program recognizes distinguished graduating seniors from across the country. Candidates are selected based on their academic and artistic accomplishments, leadership and their involvement in school.

Depew, along with the other Presidential Scholars, will be recognized in Washington D.C. in June.

Leave a Reply